Skip Navigation

Physician-Scientist Workforce (PSW) Report 2014

Use of Internet Explorer for eRA Modules to be Phased Out by July 19, 2021

eRA is phasing out the use of the Internet Explorer browser for eRA modules effective July 19, 2021. For tips and tricks on troubleshooting browser configuration issues, please go here: Tips & Tricks for Fixing Browser Configuration Issues When Using eRA Modules.


The Working Group gratefully acknowledges the following individuals who served as ad hoc members of the Physician-Scientist Workforce Subcommittees and whose insights contributed to the discussion of issues and recommendations presented in this report:

Ad Hoc Subcommittee Members

Robert M. Califf, MD
Professor of Medicine
Director, Duke Translational Medicine Institute
Vice Chancellor for Clinical and Translational Research
Department of Medicine /Cardiology
Duke University
Durham, NC

Janine Austin Clayton, MD
Director, Office of Research on Women’s Health and Associate Director for Research on Women’s Health
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Barry Coller, MD
David Rockefeller Professor and Physician-In-Chief
Laboratory of Blood and Vascular Biology
The Rockefeller University
New York, NY

Thomas O. Daniel, MD
Executive Vice President and President of Research & Early Development
Celgene Corporation
Summit, NJ

Timothy DeRouen, PhD
Professor of Biostatistics, Oral Health Sciences, and Global Health
Director, Center for Global Oral Health
School of Dentistry
University of Washington

Peter J. Gruber, MD, PhD
Johann L. Ehrenhaft Professor and Chairman
Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA

Michael Dale Lairmore, DVM, PhD
Dean and Professor
Veterinary Medicine
University of California Davis
Davis, CA

Jeffrey Myers, MD, PhD
Department of Head and Neck Surgery
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Harry W. Dickerson, BVSc, MS, PhD
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs
Department of Infectious Diseases
College of Veterinary Medicine
The University of Georgia
Athens, GA

Robert Dittus, MD
Professor of Medicine
Division of General Internal Medicine
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN

Mildred C. Embree, DDS, PhD
Assistant Professor of Dental Medicine
College of Dental Medicine
Columbia University
New York, NY

Mark C. Fishman, MD
Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research (NIBR)
Cambridge, MA

Don Ganem, MD
‎Global Head of Infectious Diseases Research & Vice President Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research
Cambridge, MA
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Willie M. Reed, DVM, PhD, DACVP, DACPV
Dean and Professor
College of Veterinary Medicine
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN

Mike J. Welsh, MD
Roy J. Carver Biomedical Research Chair in Internal Medicine and Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
Professor of Neurosurgery,
Director of the University of Iowa Cystic Fibrosis Research Center
Director of the University of Iowa Institute for Biomedical Discovery
Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine
University of Iowa
Iowa City IA

External Reviewer

Steven M. Altschuler, MD
President and CEO
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA

The Working Group also wishes to acknowledge the support and contributions of NIH staff who provided administrative support to the Subcommittees, and of the contractors who provided research support.

NIH Staff Contributors

Yvonne Lau, MD, MBHL, PhD
Executive Secretary
NIH ACD Physician-Scientists Workforce (PSW) Working Group
NIH Extramural Research Integrity Officer
Office of Extramural Research/Office of Extramural Program
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Lynn Morin, MA
Public Health Analyst
National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Rockville, MD

Mary L. Garcia-Cazarin, PhD
Health Scientist, Office of Dietary Supplements
AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Jennifer Sutton, MS
Extramural Program Policy and Evaluation Officer
Office of Extramural Research/Office of Extramural Program
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Misty L. Heggeness, PhD
Labor Economist
Office of Extramural Research/Office of Extramural Program
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Mercedes Rubio, PhD
Program Chief, Psychopathology Risk and Protective Factors Research Program
Assistant Director, Individual Research Fellowship Programs
National Institute of Mental Health
Bethesda, MD

Xiaodu Guo, MD, PhD
Scientific Review Administrator
Review Branch
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Bethesda, MD

Lisa Evans, JD
Scientific Workforce Diversity Specialist
Office of Extramural Research/Office of Extramural Program
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Rosemarie Filart MD, MPH, MBA
Medical Officer
Detail at Office of Research on Women's Health
National Institutes of Health,
Bethesda, MD

Staff of OERStats
Division of Statistical Analysis & Reporting (DSAR)
Office of Extramural Research
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Sarah Shane
Executive Assistant to OEP Director
Office of Extramural Programs
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD


Contractor support for this report was provided under the NET ESOLUTIONS CORPORATION (NETE) NIH Prime Contract HHSN276201300089U. NETE was supported by its subcontractors, Thomson Reuters and Catalyst Research & Communications. Individual team members include: NET ESOLUTIONS (NETE): Sandeep Somaiya, Contract Program Manager; Meghan Hudson, Task Coordinator; Sydney Gomes and Chrissy Juarez, Graphic Designers. Thomson Reuters: Joshua Schnell, PhD., Subcontract Director and Task Lead; Elmer Yglesias, David Jones, Leo DiJoseph, and Di H. Cross. Catalyst Research & Communications: Glora Stables, PhD, RD, Subcontract Director; Donna Lloyd-Kolkin, PhD, Task Lead and Report Writer; Heather Handel, MHS, Researcher.

Meeting support for this contract was provided by Palladian Partners under Contract HHSN2632012000201. Individual team members include Joel Yaccarino, Chris Guilfoy, Helena Mickle, Samantha Wright and Daniel Greenstein.

Special Recognition

Hershel Alexander, PhD
Director, Data Operations and Services
Association of American Medical Colleges
Washington, DC

Professional Organizations

The PSW-WG also gratefully acknowledges the assistance of the following organizations in providing insights and/or data used in the analyses presented in this report:

American Association of Colleges of Nursing
American Association for Dental Research
American Association of Medical Colleges
American Board of Internal Medicine
American Board of Medical Specialties
American Board of Pediatrics
American Dental Education Association
American Medical Association
American Physician Scientists Association
American Veterinary Medical Association
Association of American Medical Colleges
Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Merial Veterinary Scholars Program

Back to top